Digital Leading and Learning

DLL Reflection

I don’t even know where to start! One of my favorite things about this program (that was actually a frustration earlier on) is that everything we have done is relevant to my classroom, my ability to lead others, and my techniques as a teacher and learner. In the first couple classes, I was a bit unhappy about this because I wanted more variety with what I was learning. Now looking back I see that if this was organized any other way I wouldn’t have been able to learn as much. One of my issues prior to this program was thinking I could do it all well. I can’t. But if I focus on a few major things like we did in this program I can definitely do those things extremely well.

From the beginning we have been encouraged to be self-directed learners. This is something I strive to teach my students every year, and I really appreciate this about the program.  Our innovation plan then took things a step further where we had to work with others while still determining our own timeline for work (within reason!). The collaboration factor helped me learn how to trust others and accept the fact that MANY other ideas are better than my own! This was hard for me to swallow since I am relatively stubborn, but doing so made me a better educator and person. J Working with Ryan and Erin on our initiative and everyone else throughout each course has also taught me the true benefits of my professional learning network. Without everyone else I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Many of the technical aspects of these courses like blended learning and instructional design were very familiar to me, but applying those things to my own products reinforced their need. The papers and presentations we created seemed extremely difficult when first approached, but eventually they all turned into products I’m extremely proud of. This feeling of pride and ownership goes back to the self-directed learning. I was able to focus on topics that are important and relevant to me!

It feels so good to be able to check off all of the course goals for the DLL program. I can confidently say that I have mastered every single one of them and am ready to enter the 2017-2018 school year as a digital learner and leader. I know that my new outlook and abilities will help me create a significant learning environment based on COVA and encourage others to do so as well.

Leave a comment